Fallsburg BOE Recognizes Scholar Athletes: May 2022

Fallsburg BOE Recognizes Scholar Athletes

FALLSBURG, May 2022– During the beginning of the Fallsburg Board of Education (BOE) meeting on April 13, Superintendent Dr. Ivan Katz introduced the Director of Athletics, Suzanne Lendzian. She then informed the Board that a number of winter sports teams and individuals earned Scholar Athlete Awards from New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) and from Fallsburg High School.

To merit a NYSPHSAA designation, a varsity team’s GPA average has to be greater than or equal to 90.00 for 75% of the roster. If so, the team receives a certificate, and the scholar athletes receive a special pin. Individuals on non-scholar varsity athlete teams with an individual GPA of 90.00 or above receive a scholar athlete pin.

Three Fallsburg Winter Sports Teams were 2022 NYSPHSAA Scholar Athlete Teams: Girls Indoor Track and Field; Girls Basketball; and Cheerleading. Coach Danielle Halikias introduced the Track and Field athletes that were present at the meeting.to a very appreciative audience of BOE members, family, coaches, friends, and many staff in attendance. The complete list of the team’s scholar athletes is Meredith Anderman, Sanaya Aquil, Isabelle Batista, Kassandra Damms, Bintou Darboe, Anna Dell’Aquila, Olga Flores, Stephanie Granados, Gisella King, Angelina Levner, Amanda Murtagh, Cyriah Russell, Jailly Sebastian, Ceci Mancia, Hannah Johnson, and Hayden-Marie Herrera.

Girls Basketball Coach Michael Ballard welcomed the team members present and presented their certificates. The entire team was Emily Perna, Mia Irlbacher, Arslyn Cantave, Allison Perna, Kaitlyn Cross, Maya Ballard, and Ashley Grande. Boys Basketball Coach Lionel White introduced the Cheerleading Team: Nataly Alocer, Kaitlyn Pederson, Emily Collura, Jayleen Molina, Dalila Ortiz-Fuentes, Alexa Smith, Gabriella White, Angie White, Cassandra Rose, Nayelis Martinez, and Keidy Escoto.

Fallsburg Scholar Athletes on Interscholastic teams in grades 7-12 on the modified, JV or varsity level had to meet the Honor Roll Criteria of above 85% GPA. The Winter 2022 recipients were Michael Storms and Joash Fernandez of Boys JV Basketball; Madeline Pantel of Girls Alpine Ski Team; Rodrigo Zacapexpan Reyes from Modified Wrestling; and Girls Modified Basketball teammates Layla-Marie Russell, Alisha Tremper, Marilyn Santos, Fatoumata Gai, and Noelle Varner. Coaches representing these teams were Lionel White, David Mellan, Lucille Harris, and Jennifer Varner.