Fallsburg High School Announces Hertz-LaRuffa Awards: June 2020

Fallsburg High School Announces Hertz-LaRuffa Awards

FALLSBURG, June 2020–Every year since 1959, the Fallsburg Central School District has awarded a scholarship to honor student musicians for outstanding contributions and character, both inside and outside the classroom.

Initially, it was called the Hertz Award, in honor of music teacher and band director, Irving Hertz. In 1983, Band Director Joe LaRuffa’s name was added, and it became the Hertz-LaRuffa Scholarship.

This year’s honorees are Khadijah Mamburay, Xiverliz Rivera Aponte, David Parsons, Amanda Zeno and Shauna Bellaccio.

The awards are normally presented at the Annual Spring Concert, which was cancelled because the school was closed for most of the Spring Semester. Current FHS Band Director Danna Clear announced this year’s recipients in an email to the District this past week. Congratulations go out to these outstanding young people.